��� 2005-05-17, 5:40 p.m.

Cat Yak and Knee Trouble

This morning Bill and I were awakened by the lovely sound of one of our beloved felines getting ready to yak up something good. If you have a cat, you know the sound. The sound of impending regurgitation. The sound we used to make as kids when someone suggested we eat broccoli or spinach.

The lucky kitty this morning was Midori, and she let loose a stomach full of mucus right on the bed, right next to Bill's head. Completely grossed out, Bill went into the spare bedroom to finish sleeping. (He cleaned up the yak first.) Since it was about 6:20 I said screw it and got up, threw the sheets in the wash and went for a run.

The run was great. A full two miles this time (back up to last year's usual in only a few weeks!) and it felt wonderful. I got home, made myself some coffee, changed out the sheets to the dryer and on my way upstairs my knee said, "Fuck you."

Ok, my knee did not actually speak profanity to me, but I did when it sent shooting pains throughout my knee. The pain has persisted off and on all day. A couple of reliable sources have told me the knee is irritated/bruised or otherwise inflamed. Give it a rest. Wrap it. Put heat on it. Dammit!! Doesn't the knee realize the TEST is only a few short practice days away?

WAHH! So I made an agreement with my knee that I would give it tonight off only and back to practice tomorrow. I can't show up for my test looking like I haven't done my forms all week. I gotta have my stripe!!

So here I sit, sipping a Blackstone Syrah 2001. It was a long day. A particularly hideous client emailed me a dumb ass comment today so I responded in an equally rude, condecending manner. Because of his bassackward mindset I'm not worried about him getting mad. I've learned that you have to talk to him like a trucker/sailor to get his attention.

The wine helps. It always helps.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!