��� 2005-10-15, 9:35 p.m.

Christmas in October

It's been like Christmas around here. My husband purchased a new computer.

It's not like where you go down to Best Buy and pick one up, or even ordering one off of dude get a Dell.com. Not for my software engineering sweetie! He ordered all of his carefully chosen components off of mwave.com. Then he called me at work Thursday to complain that their customer service was sucking and that they didn't tell him part x was backordered.

So he ordered part x from another vendor. Thursday night he couldn't sleep, he was so excited about his parts being delivered on Friday via urgent overnight delivery express. As usually happens, he diligently gets to work putting together his new computer (think link-n-logs or Leggos, or even Cooties...did I date myself? Do they still make Cooties?) cuts himself, then starts it up and of course, something is wrong. "they" screwed something up. "they" did something wrong and he, the Puter Hero, must fix it.

I honestly think he enjoys it when something goes wrong. These parts aren't compatible. They gave him the wrong drivers. This catalog file is missing. It's what he lives for. He can be the master of his techie domain, the king of the code.

It's so cute!! He's so excited about his new puter he forgets to eat. He can't even tear himself away long enough to get a beer. All I've heard all day is how cool these graphics look with his new video card and how much faster this system is from his old one.

This is also good for me. He spent a slew on this computer. Now I get to decide what nice new thing I want. Tee hee!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!