��� 2005-10-16, 9:13 p.m.

Neo Nazis

Get ready for another rant:

I find this very disturbing...

Neo Nazis have no right to march

It's not disturbing because there are neo nazis wanting to march (well, ok that IS disturbing, but...) but that people think that they shouldn't have the RIGHT to march. I don't care how much you or me or the mayor or the president agree or disagree with someone. Our personal feelings have absolutely no bearing on someone else's rights. Basically, if the neo nazis don't have the right to march neither does anyone else. To dictate who can excercise freedom of assembly based on personal feelings or even how the majority of people feel on any given subject would cripple the constitution. You may as well shred it and piss on it if you start doing that.

I find white supremacists as revolting as anyone else but I believe that the first amendment is more important than hating neo nazis. I say fight the message they are trying to spread by using your own freedom of speech, not by trying to stifle theirs. Who knows...you might even get some of them to change their minds. Words are powerful things.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!