��� 2005-05-15, 11:16 a.m.

Token White Girl

Last night Bill and I went to a graduation party for a girl that used to work with me. It was at a fusion restaurant in Little Five Points. We'd never been down there and I was concerned about parking so we took off a little early. We reached our exit and carefully followed the directions.

The neighborhood went from bad to worse. I got nervous. I hate being in places that make me glad I have my gun. As we went along the neighborhood slowly improved, then all of a sudden there was a huge area that had been leveled and brand new townhomes were being built.

When we reached the Little Five Points area, it was clear that we were over dressed. Everyone was in jeans. There was a guy with dreadlocks walking around with a white towel on his head. Very alternative. And I didn't even have my belly button ring in. Disgraceful!

By this point we were sure we would run in, eat, and get the hell out. We found parking a few blocks from the restaurant. As we were walking away from it a rather large (ok, damn huge) black guy in a sports jersey came over to us and told us it was $3 to park there. I didn't care if he had anything to do with the parking lot, if $3 is what it took for safe passage I was happy to part with it.

When we got to the restaurant we felt better. We were still grossly over dressed (I'll do my research next time) but the place looked like fun. We had some saki waiting for the rest of the party to show up. I didn't know anyone else who was going to be there, other than the graduate and Mary K who was supposed to show up but didn't. Luckily the guest of honor showed first so we didn't have to guess if people were in the same party.

The place had excellent sushi, and even better it was $1 each. All the sushi eaters gathered in one corner and ordered a slew of it. The wasabi was hella hot and I thought one girl was going to need CPR when she got a big chunk of it. It turned out to be a lot of fun despite the questionable beginning and I'm glad we went. All of her friends were really smart and funny - the best kind of people to party with.

Bill was nice enough to point out that I was the only white person at the party. Yep, that's me, token white girl. I could have really stuck out if I was blond. Hehe.

Last night there was this long, low rumbling overhead about 1am. It was almost like a plane was flying too low but it lasted quite a while. Bill got out of bed to go look out the window but he didn't see anything. It was probably and alient space ship and we missed it.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!