��� 2005-05-12, 9:40 p.m.

For Your Health?

I just got the bill for my little visit to the ER last month. As you may recall, I went in to the doctor with abdominal pains and was referred to the emergency room for a CT Scan. Guess how much the bill was. Go ahead, guess. Nope, higher. Try again. Closer, but not quite. How about over $6,200? It appears that insurance will be covering most of this, but for the love of God...what if this had happened when I was single? What if this had happened before I had health isurance (which wasn't all that long ago)?

This is almost enough to make me totally go organic vegetarian chinese medicine meditation.

Even more than that, I'm angered. Where do they get off charging $392 for "observation room"? Holy fucking shit, I could stay in a five star hotel and have three meals of room service for that. What did I get? A big pillow thrown on top of a metal rack and a needle in my arm. Shit, I could have gotten that downtown for $50. $392. Think about it.

I saw my chiropractor today. He was glad to see me. He treated me well. He made me feel better and helped me understand why my body does the things it does. He got me all fixed up for my second brown belt test next week. $35.

$392, $35. There's a problem here.

Enough of the depressing shit. On to the wine of the day!

2003 Barrosa Valley Estate Chardonnay. I've had this winemaker's shiraz before and really liked it so I thought I'd give their whites a try. I'm glad I did. It has a very soft, refreshing bouquet that makes me feel like grilling veggie kabobs. The oak in it is just as soft, like gold across my tongue and silk down my throat. It's kind of a floral oak, which is not something I find often in my fly by the seat of my pants wine critiques. I think I will definately be purchasing this one again. Four glasses of bliss per bottle, $9 per bottle. That's some health care I can live with.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!