��� 2006-06-13, 10:16 p.m.

Under Pressure

First, the good news. Tonight I got my Advanced Toastmaster Bronze Award. This means I've done 20 speeches in front of my club. Damn, when you put it like that...pour me a glass of champagne. Woot!

Second, I'm feeling the pressure at work. This is my first time being a manager and I'm kind of struggling with the appropriate balance between authority and buddy. I don't want to be a micromanaging on-you-every-minute badgering type, but I'm afraid I've taken the arm's length approach to management too far. I think one of my employees is taking advantage of my laid back style. I had to say something today. It wasn't in-you-face, but I hope I made my point. If I didn't, I'll have to start getting on her tail. Dammit. Dammit, dammit. Last thing I wanted.

Then I'm afraid something's brewing in the upper management. I almost hope it blows so I can say some stuff I've been waiting to say. I just have a bad feeling it's going to blow tomorrow and I really didn't want to have to be a bitch on my birthday. *sigh*

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!