��� 2006-06-14, 10:56 p.m.

29 Again...Er...

This is the last birthday I can say I'm twenty....anything. 29. I will quote an earlier email of mine to a friend I grew up with. "What the hell happened?"

I'm not afraid though. I'm not afraid of 29. I'm not afraid of 30. After all, each year keeps getting better and better so by this measure I ought to be freaking ecstatic to get to 40. Damn, I can't wait to be 40. (Keep thinking that...)

Better news than turning 30 in another 365 days is that my braces are scheduled to come off on my 30th birthday, precisely one year from today. I have threatened the lives of my orthodontist and everyone who works for her so I'm sure they will work overtime to make sure the damned things come off as planned.

Work went well. The jr partner was in a good mood today so all was well. Sheesh. Anyway, one of my coworkers made a FABULOUS pound cake. At first I'm thinking pound cake...um...thank you. Then I tasted it. My GOD. I had no idea pound cake could taste like that. Add the homemade whipped cream, strawberries and vanilla bean ice cream and you can image the amount of work I got done today. Very little.

My sister in law found a reason not to come to my birthday dinner tonight, and my little nephew was with her. I was actually pretty disappointed, but having my hibachi kitchen dinner with just Bill and my brother was actually very fun. My brother got a new car and he was enjoying squealing it out for us and racing after we left. (Yeah, I had a little saki so I was ready to pit my 4-banger against his 6-cylinder.) He let me win since it's my birthday.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!