��� 2005-02-05, 6:46 p.m.

Layin' Tile & A Rant

We have tile! Originally we were going to do hardwoods in the kitchen floor to cover up the hideous lineoleum but after spending a little time in the flooring department at Expo, ceramic tile it is. Having lived in rentals all of my adult life, I'm suddenly faced with real home decisions. So far this has been relatively painless. We set it up. Fun begins when they come out to measure, then lay the tiles.

This pushes back our move-in date til early March, unfortunately. A few MORE weeks in the Mexican hell. I was using a checkcard at a local establishment today and the little instructions on the card reader were ONLY in Spanish. It didn't even give me a choice. I was looking at the little screen thinking WHAT THE FREAKING SHIT HELL IS THIS? I should have said it out loud. That really made me mad. Hell, my own husband is Mexican and he was really irritated. I finally figured out that it was asking for my pin. I think. For all I know it could have been saying "If you're a white girl that don't speak no Spanish, punch in the number of times you'd like to be spanked." Grrr.

When I was in Bolivia, people spoke to me in Spanish and I didn't know what they were saying. And I was ok with that. In Atlanta, Georgia, friggin speak to me in English. Or at least Southern. I speak Southern now.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!