��� 2005-05-20, 10:35 p.m.

TEST YOUR MIGHT

That's right, test day has finally arrived. I was worried about traffic so I hit the road early and got there about 45 minutes ahead of time. No problem. Gave me time to share anxiety with my fellow testees. Um, anyway. They tested all the tai chi people first. It was pretty cool to watch them. I didn't realize how long those pakua and dagger forms are.

Then they brought up the guys testing for probationary black and put them through san jie hell. (Short form with total focus on your breathing and strength to the exclusion of everything else, including the guy trying to sweep you or push you from behind.)

My group was called up a little earlier than I expected. We did our san jie (my feet never left the ground, yey!) and then sai. I had to start over on the sai, for some reason I got half way through the form and the synapses quit firing. Second time through I did ok. Then we did first and second bird, both of which I felt pretty ok about, then finished it up with tiger. I like the tiger form. I think I did my best on that one. I think I controlled my nerves pretty well considering I had an Elder Master, two Masters, an Associate Master and two ranking Sifus staring at me. I was very grateful that my still healing knee really held out and came through for me. Good knee. Extra vitamins for you!

We were sent off to put on our sparring gear. When we were called up, I wasn't nervous at all which still strikes me odd. Sparring for me is kind of weak, but I guess I didn't feel stressed about it for whatever reason. Nothing to forget, maybe? Anywho, I kicked my sparring partner in the knee (ack, crap, shit, bad form) then I somehow ended up on the floor (don't have a CLUE how) and when he came in to finish me off I nailed him with two kicks right in the nads. (Or, I would have nailed him if he hadn't been wearing a nut cup.) The panel of black belts found that amusing. Making them laugh is always a good thing when trying to curry one's favor. As long as they're not laughing at your pitiful forms.

Elder Master had good things to say about my performance, although I was hoping for a little more constructive criticism. He doesn't have to worry about me getting mad and quitting, lol. I'll be seeing him tomorrow for the festival forms, maybe I can corner him and get the good stuff.

ANYWHO, I passed and the proof is in the stripe:

Take careful note of that sharp, white, quite impressive and attractive stripe on my belt. Oh, yeah baby!!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!