��� 2006-01-30, 9:23 p.m.

Special?

I find this current event rather striking:

Outrage Builds in Mideast Over Cartoons

This article doens't really talk about the one that I thought was funny (Mohammed running out of heaven saying "Stop, stop, we're out of virgins!") The ones it does mention I don't really understand. Regardless of any of that, I support free speech and freedom of the press by all people anywhere whether I agree with what they say or not. I believe that freedom of expression is vital part of allowing people to be who they are and think it's a tragedy that all countries don't have this right as a law.

But all that aside, I just have to wonder why Muslims seem to think they are special. The whole world makes fun of everyone, yet any time someone draws a picture of the prophet or they hear a rumor about a Koran being placed near a toilet, they go absolutely fucking bonkers city.

I just don't get it. When people insult Jesus Christ (which happens on a daily basis) you just don't see Christians the world over burning flags in the streets, shooting up public offices, taking hostages or blowing people up. As far as I'm concerned the Muslim people are just people like everyone else with their own culture, their own set of beliefs, their own religion.

When most people get insulted, they call and complain, they boycott, maybe they write to their senators. They don't take over public offices or call for the execution of people or trample each other to death in the street.

Maybe someone can explain it to me. I just don't get it. So much for free speech in the world.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!