��� 2006-01-29, 8:42 p.m.

Missundaztood

I have to share somewhat of a rant. It doesn't piss me off as much as it depresses me, but it's a rant none the less.

Lately it's really been bothering me when people make comments like "Oh, I'm afraid of you now," or "I'd better be nice to you," or, the most stupid, "Are you going to attack me?" when they learn I do kung fu or that I have a blackbelt or just that I do martial arts in general. I know that a lot times it's just in jest or just because they can't think of anything else to say. I recognize that. But is this really what people think martial arts is about? Kicking someone's ass? Do they honestly believe that someone would go through the untold hours of learning and practice, pour their heart and soul and sweat into something...just so that they can hurt someone? And if they DON'T think that way, why would they say something like that?

I can think of much easier ways to hurt someone if that was my goal, and it wouldn't take three years to do it.

I think it's mostly starting to bother me because the more martial arts I do, the less it's about physical self- defense. Certainly, that's a huge part of it and a crucial aspect of learning it, but...even if after everything I've learned and will learn someone could still wipe the floor with me...I'd still do it. I'd still go through the hours of practice and sit ups and strength training. I'd still spend hours trying to get my hands in the right position even if it meant nothing in a fight.

I'm getting to the stage where it's not just butt-kicking kung fu. It's artistry. It's peace with your body. It's strength from the inside out. I recently told someone, rather jokingly, it's not about violence, it's about peace. He seemed confused, but the more I think about it the more true the statement seems. Kung Fu and Tai Chi is not about comparing me to someone else, it's about comparing me now to me last month or last year or five years ago. It's about how much I've improved myself.

Not to say it's all chi and artistry. There's something so energizing about being strong and capable. There's also something painfully simple about hand to hand combat. It's so straight forward. One person attacks, the other person either blocks or gets hit. Simple. No riddles or tricks. You know exactly who the opponent is and what you can or can't do to stop them. I say the ones we should fear are those that don't fight, because they're the ones that will poison the water cooler or mail someone anthrax. It's not what you see that should be feared, but what you don't see.

I feel better getting that off my chest. To those that actually think I'm some kind of violence-crazed lunatic chomping at the bit to kick someone's ass...well, you have issues that I can't help you with. Go to talk to a shrink.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!