��� 2005-06-04, 5:03 p.m.

Sparring Class Revisited

You may remember the sparring I class I took last year. Or not. Anyway, I did. I didn't have enough of paying to get my ass kicked, so I'm doing it again this year. Woohoo! This afternoon was the first class. Again, I remind myself not to block with my face. Unfortunately it doesn't always work out that way. A fellow brown belt with a little less control than he needed threw a punch, I missed the block and ended up with a mouth full of fist. I haven't been clocked that good since my first marriage.

So right after I got home I was icing down my fat upper lip. *sigh* It's not so bad...hey, that's what happens when you really do kung fu. I'm just glad it was a punch and not a kick. A kick probably would have sent me to an emergency visit to the orthodontist. The guy felt really bad about it too, kept aplogizing. Of couse, if he didn't feel bad about it I would kind of wonder! Seriously it wasn't too terrible...no busted brackets, no loose teeth. A little bruising inside the lip, though. I think the puffiness is already going away.

I learned today that it's better to have the knife than defend against the knife. Sifu threw a rubber knife into the mix to stir things up. That truely changes the whole sparring experience. It was a heck of a lot easier to stab someone than to try to keep them from stabbing you. When they can hurt you (in real life) with very little force it makes you reevaluate your entire approach to the fight. Something to chew on this weekend.

Bill is too lazy to clean the grill so we are going out for dinner. Irish pub time!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!