��� 2007-08-16, 10:17 p.m.

Book Review: Skinny Bitch

I recently read Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. It's sort of a diet book, sort of a lifestyle book. Pretty much it's about why you should be vegan. The style of the book is very in-your-face an unapologetic about it. If you've never had a book say, "Unless you've had your head up your ass for the last three chapters..." or refer to the FDA as "Fucking Dumb Asses" then here's your chance. Don't read this if you're easily offended, a whiner, or can't take a f*ing joke. Personally, I laughed my ass off.

That said, I really enjoyed the book. It didn't convince me to become vegan but it did remind me about why I don't eat meat anymore. Yipe. They go into graphic detail. This is not a book to read during lunch, especially if you're having a burger. Good gawd.

The bitches did a good job of explaining how FDA approved poisons and other toxins affect our bodies and why you shouldn't consume them. Some parts are very graphic (the slaughterhouse stories) but effective.

It's not all scary bad. They do talk about good things for you to eat and why they're so great for you. Makes me crave walnuts and whole grains.

The only part where the bitches and I part ways is on dairy. I share the concerns over cows jacked up on god-knows-what but their assertion that cheese and other dairy are the devil and will make you fat just don't make sense. If cheese made you fat, France would have sunk into the center of the earth by now. Instead, the French have an obesity rate of like 8%. So they're going to have to sell that idea somewhere else.

All in all I recommend the book to anyone looking to make a healthful diet change. It does make you really think about what you're eating and why it is or is not good for you. Educational and entertaining both.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!