��� 2007-08-12, 5:19 p.m.

Nothing Better To Do

Since I seem to have nothing to say these days, I thought I'd start reviewing shit. Here's my first review, a recipe for Black Bean Hummus.

I got this recipe from The Path but now I can't seem to find the link on there. Anywho, here's the recipe:

4 c black beans
1 c tahini
3/4 c lemon juice
1/4 c canola oil
2 T garlic, minced
1 t salt
2 t black pepper

The recipe says to whisk everything with a wire whisk in a mixing bowl until smooth. Whatever. That would take a damn year. I threw it all in the Cuisinart and let 'er rip.

This hummus is frickin' awesome. I halfed the recipe and threw in some extra garlic. My husband is working his way through the bowl right now. Hang on.

Ok, back. Had to threaten his life to back off the hummus. This stuff kicks ass. I like regular hummus too (made with chickpeas) but this is even better. Plus black beans are pretty high in fiber and iron, other good stuff. Watch the sodium, though. Yeesh.

The website I got this from is the site for Dr. Will Clower. I read his book, The Fat Fallacy, about five years ago and when I say it changed my life I FREAKING MEAN IT. Food went from a scary enemy to a trusted friend. I even recently re-read it and it was just as good the second time around.

The Fat Fallacy was all about how the French eat (lots of dairy, fat, cheese, bread, etc) and don't get fat. (The author and his family spent time living there and it chronicles their experiences.) So when I saw this "Live Mediterranean" site for www.fatfallacy.com I was a little confused. Maybe the French aren't PC enough right now but Mediterranean is ok. Who knows. I'll probably have to buy his latest book to find out.

Doesn't matter - this Black Bean Hummus is the shit and you should try it. This is coming from someone who used to go f'ing bonkers at the sight of a bean in a Mexican restaurant. So you know it's good. :)

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!