��� 2007-09-15, 11:41 p.m.

Fingerprinting and Newsflash

Yesterday I went to renew my concealed carry license. In Georgia, now every time you renew it's like the first time. And not in a good way. You have to go down to the Justice Department and fill out an application then go down to another building and get a full set of fingerprints done.

Yeah, like people who would sabotage their own prints are the same type that would go through the trouble to get a CCW permit.

Anywho, no more archaic ink for this state. It's all digital, baby. I put my four main fingertips on each hand on a scanning pad which took a digital image of my prints then went through each individual print through the "roll" technique, also on a scanner. Then it compared the flat prints to the rolled prints and if it wasn't a close enough match you had to do it again.

After eight tries I figured we were just going to have to cut them off but luckily it finally went through. Woot! I'll get my permit in the mail (if I'm lucky) by the time my old one expires.

In other news **newsflash**newsflash** this is not a drill *** I start my NEW JOB on Monday. Wooot! After years of bitching I finally found something else and left the old job. I really didn't get the "weight lifted" feel after I left my old job. I waited for it. I wanted it. But instead I just felt like I was leaving a bad marraige. Tired. Worn out. Numb. And believe me, I know what that feels like.

I am excited about my new position, though. I have good vibes. In the words of a good friend's departed mother, "If nothing changes, nothing changes."

That's wisdom, man. Simple, yet oh so true.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!