��� 2004-12-23, 8:07 p.m.

Santa Stress

I never really thought about what it was like to be a mall Santa until I read this article on Yahoo:

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=2026&ncid=2026&e=1&u=/latimests/20041223/ts_latimes/hohoismorelikeuhoh

One Santa says:

"I had a little girl on my knee," Nevada recalls, "and she said she wanted 'a happy home' for Christmas. I looked up at the mom, and mom had bruises on her face. Now, what can I do? I can't phone the cops. I can't tell the child, 'Don't worry � Santa will send some hit men over and they'll take care of the old man.' I called Mom over, and she sat on my right knee, and mom and daughter faced each other and we had a little visit. What I could do was give that mom and daughter three or four minutes of peace."

I'll bet stuff like that makes Santa long for the days when I sat on his lap and told him I was going to leave him a beer instead of milk. (My mother was so humiliated. If I remember correctly, my brother Joe put me up to it.) The last thing I remember asking Santa for was a Mercedes. Fat bastard still hasn't delivered.

Speaking of adult beverages....

Wine of the Day: 2002 Trinchero Merlot. This is a nice wine. Not too expensive (about $9 I think) and very well rounded with a nice bouquet. Smooth, low tannins, nice plum-ish tone. Not a knock-your-boots-off and leave you panting for more kind of wine, but definately a keeper for day-to-day consumption.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!