��� 2004-12-22, 11:26 p.m.

Hero

I recently got an email forward about an act of heroism by one of our soldiers in Iraq. Unless you only listen/watch uber left-wing radio/tv, you've probably heard a story or two about our boys giving up life and limb for fellow soldiers. In Full Metal Jacket, the drill instructor Hartman says "A weapon is just a tool. It's the hard heart that kills." Perhaps the definition of a hero is one who has heart hard enough to kill the bad guy and yeilding enough to trade their own safety for that of their fellow soldiers...teammates...citizens.

A soldier is someone who has agreed that they will fight in my place. Although I have family that is/has been military, I have never served my country in the armed forces. Instead, someone has said, "I will serve in her place and mine." They offer up their existence for the protection of mine. As we are so close to Christmas, please remember our soldiers in your prayers. As you look down at your Christmas dinner (duck or ham or tofu or whatever) know that somewhere in the desert, a marine is looking down over his MRE and thanking the God that you know - or don't know - and is serving in your place.

God bless our Marines, Army, Air Force and Navy. They give more than the rest of us will ever know.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!