��� 2005-02-27, 10:09 a.m.

Random Slices of My Life

The flooring has begun. I won the cherry vs. stained to match battle, althought Bill is insisting we put cherry in the den next yera. We'll see. There's time. At the current rate we should be able to move in in about two weeks. Much longer than I wanted, but livable.

Yesterday started another round of conditioning classes. It was supposed to be the first week of lower belt conditioning but no lower belts showed up for it. It was all brown belts and a few black sashes. So they tripled the number of exercises we did. Sheesh. No free ride here.

Sifu K was doing pushups on her knees and using the "I'm a girl" excuse. That, apparently, is the difference between kung fu and tai chi. In tai chi, if you're a girl, you can do pushups on your knees. In kung fu, nobody gives a rip if you're a girl unless they are using you to shame a guy. (As in, "You're getting beat by a girl! The girl is doing better pushups than you are!")

We watched The Grudge last night. Someone said that it was scarier than The Ring. It's not. Not by a long shot. I didn't even have any trouble going to sleep. The Ring still scares me. Don't get me wrong, The Grudge was good (except for the ending, which I didn't care for) but it did not have the long-term scare factor that I was expecting.

I am 26 pages away from finishing what I believe to be the final re-read/edit on my book. Since we won't be able to work on the house for most of this week due to dust, fumes, etc. from the flooring I should have time to put together a good, tight package for submission. I went through on this last re-read and took out some of the more graphic language to make it more of a romance/romantica than erotica. Don't get me wrong, it still has plenty hot and heavy but it's just described a little more indirectly. I still wouldn't really want my mom to read it, but at least if she did read it it wouldn't have the word "penis" in it.

On a really bright note, it looks like they caught the Wichita serial killer BTK. What a freaky, creepy case. Even more disturbing is that he lived in Park City, Kansas where I worked at a car dealership for a while when I lived in Wichita. For all I know I could have rung him up and took his credit card for an oil change.

Today I will continue my hunt for a refrigerator. Adjustments may have to be made as I think my fridge of choice is too large for the space provided. That's ok, I guess...it will probably cost half as much to go with the smaller version. Wish me luck...

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!