��� 2006-11-04, 2:50 p.m.

Ohmay Kung Fu?

It was freezing this morning when I got up. It had warmed up to 34 degrees by time I got to the park for our Saturday workout. The cold kept everyone away but Sifu and I so I got a private lesson today. I learned some more of the iron fan form (freaking cool) and worked on some applications from the Tai Chi 24 form. We were wrapping up the 24 form when the people who had rented the pavillion we were using as our training floor arrived.

As we finished, they started clapping. We turned around to find an older Asian couple had been enjoying the show. The man came over to us and started talking kun fu with us. He said I (the lady) have no power (thanks to nature) so I needed Ohmay kung fu (maybe O-may? Omhay?) to defeat a stronger opponent.

He proceed to use Sifu as a kung fu dummy, going through various pressure points and a simple deflect, turn and hit move that would be easy for me to do. We thanked him for imparting his ancient Chinese wisdom (ok, not quite like that, but we thanked him and bowed). Sifu thought that was really cool and said that everything the old guy said was right on.

Now...I must figure out what the heck Ohmay kung fu is...

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!