��� 2005-10-02, 10:39 p.m.

Not What I Needed

Sometimes things happen and you just have to ask yourself WTF??

Last week at Toastmasters I was talking to one of the guys there about looking for a new job. He told me he knows lots of people and that I should email him my resume. That's cool, great. He always seemed a little too happy to be talking to me at meetings, but hey maybe he's just a nice guy. Then he suggests we talk on the phone one night or get together for lunch to talk about my job search.

My brain comes to a SCREEEETCHING halt. I don't even remember what I said but it sure wasn't yes. Anyway I didn't email him my resume, I was little freaked out. I got an email from his blackberry this morning asking me to call him. I thought about my boss, the bloviating bastard, and replied to the email with my resume and said I was available at 8pm tomorrow night, and was that too late for a phone call?

He responds almost instantly, "If it is not too much of a hassle for you I would love to meet you for Coffee or, drinks..." WTF?? Have drinks with him. Is he fucking kidding me? I paused for a moment before replying that I will be coming from my martial arts class tomorrow night and will be in no state to be in public (which is true.) While I was typing that message he had sent another message saying "What happened to my suggestion of meeting up for lunch/coffee/drinks? If you don't have time for me, I can understand."

If I don't have time for him? Maybe it's my past experiences with self depreciating losers, maybe it's just me reading too much into it, but that sounds like a whining suitor being rejected. He knows I'm married and I am pretty sure he is married.

I am so not comfortable with this and now I don't even want to talk to him ever, much less on the phone tomorrow night. Maybe I should lie and tell him I got a job offer. Your thoughts? I am accepting all suggestions on how to deal with this appropriately, considering that I will still have to see this guy at Toastmasters meetings. Help!!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!