��� 2005-05-06, 10:51 p.m.

No Speake Ingeles!

Most foreigners I can understand. Mexicans, Chinese, Koreans. No problem. They apply themselves to speaking English and I can understand what they're saying. It's certain homegrown American Southerners that I have no CLUE what they're talking about.

Case in point. I went to a certain home goods store today after work. As the cashier began to ring up my purchases, she asked me for my zip code. Except she said, "Whayozico?" So I said, "I'm sorry?" Instead of repeating herself, she began the usual zip code, "300...." and let me fill in the blanks. Ok. Then she asked me if I wanted to recieve their flyers. Except I heard, "Yageourfly?" Again, I say, "Excuse me?" This time she repeated it, then handed me the sign up sheet for their mailing list.

With Americans that speak English like this, what chance do immigrants have?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!