��� 2005-05-07, 8:09 p.m.

Bug Education

There are bugs in Georgia that just don't exist in Iowa. Or anywhere else, for that matter. Growing up I knew about flies, spiders, potato bugs, lady bugs and ticks. Here there are more household insects than you can shake a can of Raid at.

We called the exterminator in because Bill and I had seen what we believed to be silverfish. It turns out they are actually "house centipedes." WTF?? They sure don't look like any centipedes I've ever seen. They're white and silver with a bagillion legs and tentacles. Creepy as hell.

Anyway the bug guy sprayed the basement and the garage and went on his happy bug killing way. Shortly after he left I was in the basement going over my cane and staff forms before I went to class. Lo and behold, a "house centipede" escapes from the insulation and starts running across the floor. I informed the bug that he was about to die. Unwilling to use my staff to squash him, I picked up a nearby can of paint and dropped it on him, half under the can and half outside the can. The part that was outside the rim of the can split off from the rest of it and BEGAN TO RUN AROUND ON ITS OWN. After expressing my revulsion, I picked up the paint can again and did him in. Or, did the other half of him in. Again. The centipede was no match for my kung fu.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!