��� 2005-10-26, 9:05 p.m.

No Free Lunch

Every Wednesday we have a supposed staff meeting and accompanying firm-sponsored lunch. Today lunch was coming from Jason's Deli. I excitedly placed my order for a Garden Po'Boy and side of fruit. About half an hour before lunch was supposed to start, we were informed that we had to "report" during this meeting. WTF, I'm thinking. And the boss hands out assignments for us to be "prepared" for to present during the lunch meeting.

Uh. "Prepared" indicates that one actually has been given the task in advance. Or perhaps I'm mistaken. Anyway, I threw my "assignment" together half assed and liked it that way.

Lunch arrived an hour late. It's almost 1:30. I've been knawing on my arm. My lunch order was misplaced. I had no lunch and a half-assed project. Nan was kind enough to share her gigantic salad with me. I felt really pathetic retrieving my cucumber slices and trickle of salad dressing from the fridge to add to my charity salad.

We were supposed to have a guy come give us an estimate on window replacements tonight. He was supposed to be here at 7:30. At 7:45 I get a call from the company's office that the guy is stuck in traffic and will be another half an hour. *sigh* ok. At 8:30 I call and tell them it's too late. Tell him not to come. At 8:45 the actual person who was supposed to come out calls and tells Bill that he was stuck overtime on a job. So...which is it? Was he stuck in traffic or was he stuck on a job? This just don't give me warm fuzzies.

That's my life in a nut shell today. No lunch, no windows. I did, however, have a very tasty spiked coffee after dinner. Mmmmm.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!