��� 2005-10-17, 9:10 p.m.

Killer Deadline

This diary entry almost came to you from the Atlanta Correctional Facility because I almost killed Leigh today. It was our biggest deadline of the year today. Leigh conveniently was not at work on Friday due to car trouble so Nan and I were there until almost 7pm doing the work that Leigh was supposed to be doing all week. Well, today was it. Any tax returns not filed today were late and therefore would incur penalties. So we're busting our butts getting everything done. Except for the stupid cow. She sat on her ass, making excuses for why her part of the work wasn't done, then whining that it wouldn't take that long anyway (apparently, what's the rush?). At 3:30 I got sick of looking at the shit sit in her in box so I started doing the work. We'd told her repeatedly it has to be IN the mailbox before 5:00 when the mail gets picked up. She took the last ones out to the mail at 5:10. Now we hope that the mailman didn't come early (or even on time) or those returns are still sitting in the mail box and will be late. Add this to the fact that the stupid bastard went home and TOOK A NAP while we panicked, taking care of HIS clients and making HIM money.

Since there's not much I can do about the stupid bastard, tomorrow I'm going to the office manager and try to get Leigh fired. I've never done that before. I've never been this angry. I've never had to completely do someone else's job while they sat around and whined. Where the hell do these people come from?

I totally needed kung fu after work. I felt a lot better after I got to kick someone. Plus it was really nice to be back in the mix after my two week illness related hiatus. I came home a lot calmer (no longer shaking with anger) but still steamed. A glass of wine and some cheese went a long way in helping me stop the ranting and cursing.

On a more humorous note, Bill and I installed a cat door between the kitchen and utility room this weekend so we can close off the unsightly room without cutting off the cats' access to the litter box. That in and of itself wasn't funny, but trying to train Midori and Tasha to go through the door was another story. Midori is convinced that she can't push the clear flap with her nose so she sits there and stares at me from the other side, meowing helplessly. I get some kitty food and hold it out. She almost puts a paw through the door. She mews pathetically, tortured. She can see the food, but she is convinced that she can't get to it. After an hour of coaxing to no avail, this was our solution:

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!