��� 2005-10-11, 10:55 p.m.

Jokes and Dreams

For some reason I was thinking today about some old jokes that my dad used to like to tell. Two stand out...

A guy is visiting a town in the southwest. He's told that the old Indian sitting on the porch of the house in front of him never forgets anything. So the guy walks up to the Indian and says, "What did you have for breakfast three years ago last Tuesday?" The Indian says, "Eggs." The guy thinks well, he could have eggs every morning for breakfast, so, unimpressed, he walks away. Ten years later he's back in the same town and sees the same old Indian sitting on the same old porch. The guy walks up to the Indian, raises his hand and says, "How." The Indian says, "Scrambled."

An old farmer is talking to a friend of his on his farm. There's a bunch of kittens running around so the friend asks the old farmer if the kittens have names. The old farmer says, "Well, there's Fluffy, and there's Tuffy and Scruffy, and over there is Tchaikovsky." The friend scratches his head a little and says "Well why did you name them that?" The old farmer says, "Fluffy, cause she's the fluffiest, Tuffy cause he's the toughest, Scruffy cause he's the scruffiest, and Tchaikovsky cause he's the peein-ist."

My dad told me about a recurring dream he used to have that started when he was little. He would dream that he was home in bed and his dad would come home from work (railroad) and leave him a brand new pair of boots at the foot of his bed. Dad said that every time he woke up from that dream he would have to check, just in case the boots were actually there.

There are dreams that I have more than once, although right at this moment I can't think of a single one. I always remember them when I wake up and know that I have dreamed it before, but then they float away to be forgotten until I dream it again. Maybe they go to the same place where lost thoughts go, like when you walk into a room and forget why you went in there. What if you never remember what you were going to do? Where does that thought go? Is there a purgatory for forgotten thoughts and dreams? "Hi, my name is Bob and I'm a lost thought. I was forgotten in 1982 and I've been here ever since."

Does anyone out there have a recurring dream they'd like to share?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!