��� 2006-07-30, 10:33 p.m.

Irritation

I was leisurely reading the USA Weekend that's part of the Sunday paper when I was assaulted by a rude question in the "Who's News" section. Some dumbass wrote in "I recently saw...'Desperation' [on TV, by Stephen King]. It was filled with such profound horror that we had to question whether the writer was depressed."

Firstly, @*&$&(@!! And then @()@$*(#*%!! What the fuck is wrong with people? WHY WHY WHY can they not separate a writer from their work? Why does the story always have to be the writer, the writer's fantasies, the writer's dreams and/or desires? Why can't it just be a fucking story? It really pisses me off. Sure, some elements of a story will come from the writer's life/experiences/people they know. But let's face it. A story takes a spark from some where and then the writer's creative imagination takes it to a new level, then fills in the details.

Why does this have to be a reflection of the author's personal identity/mental health/respectability? Why can't it just be a creative production?

*sigh* This is twice in a week and a half that this particular nerve has been kicked in the nads. I guess I'm fighting a loosing battle. Maybe only other writers will understand what I'm saying. Everyone else will continue to believe we're imbalanced wackos.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!