��� 2004-12-18, 10:56 p.m.

Iron Bone Abs

It was a total ab workout today at kung fu. First we did sit ups, ten sets with one student each set holding a 15 pound cylinder on his or her chest. Ten sit ups times six students = 50 situps and 10 uber situps. Then we did 50 legs lifts, same concept except it was a slightly lighter cylider on our legs. Apparently I'm not top heavy enough, because when Sifu put it on my legs my torso came up off the ground and my legs didn't move. This was humorous to everyone else.

Since this wasn't enough fun, we did 50 partner leg lifts, then 50 situps on the angled bench (ouchie) and 50 leg lifts in the air (on the machine where you hold yourself up). We staggered off the machines to do Ippons, One-step techniques and Chin-na. God I love it. (I must...or I wouldn't keep going back.)

Bill and I were on our way to look at some houses this afternoon and I blew out a tire on the interstate. As long as I've lived here, this has been my biggest fear. Flying along at 70 with everyone going flipping Nascar 120 around me and blowing a tire. God must have been looking out for us because I was able to pull off to the side right away. I don't know what the hell I hit, but it took a big chunk out of my tire. Luckily we were about a mile and a half from the tire store. So we didn't make it to the house viewings. Grrr.

I was forced to enter Toys R Us today. It was a damn madhouse. Crap everywhere, stuff on the floor. I was able to find what I was looking for within a few moments. (Yeah, I got suckered in to buying something for my new nephew. His cuteness cannot be denied.) In front of us in line was a couple (obviously) buying Christmas gifts for their kids. An entire cart full of absolute shit. $400 worth of plastic shit. I just don't get it. The kids are going to play with them for a few days and forget about them. Then eventually all that plastic shit ends up in the county landfill. Nice. It made me feel bad about the plastic shit I was purchasing. I justified myself with the fact that I was only buying ONE piece of $15 plastic shit rather than a whole cart full. Next year I think I'll find some other kind of gift. Something either long-lasting and keepsake type or at least if he's going to forget about it in a few days, make it biodegradable.

If I'm able to sit up out of bed in the morning I'll be going shooting tomorrow. Hopefully I'm not in too much pain to squeeze off a few rounds.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!