��� 2005-01-30, 2:02 p.m.

Ice Storm Stories

I would have made an entry last night but at about 9:30 we lost power due to the horrific ice storm gripping Georgia. I guess I shouldn't complain since many people were without power earlier in the day, but when all the lights went out I was in the corner of the office surrounded by boxes and crap covering every square inch of floor around me. So there I sat, in the dark, wondering how the hell I was going to get out of there without killing myself.

Luckily Bill's battery powered laptop came to the rescue. Its lovely screen illuminated my path out of certain death. However, the rest of the house is in just as much disarray. So we spent an hour jumping boxes and cats hunting down hurricane lamps and candles. Then, with no electricity and nothing else to do, we do what everyone does...we drank some beer and went to bed.

We were fortunate enough to regain power about 1am. So just as I was about to drift off into la la land, every light in the house came on. The excitement never ends!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!