��� 2005-08-01, 9:10 p.m.

Help Wanted

Here's my rendition of many of the jobs ads I've been seeing:

Wanted - Tailpipe Taker: Someone who is ready and willing to bend over and take it for the company. Must be willing to work for significantly less than they are worth. If you have no self confidence, enjoy being used and have no personal life whatsoever, you may be the right candidate for this position. SUPER QUALIFIED CANDIDATES ONLY! ALL OTHERS WILL BE HUNTED DOWN AND SHOT.

As you can see, my job hunt is going great. I have a really negative attitude toward employment at the moment, especially after being told by a recruiter that my boss was "within his rights" to do to me what he did. Apparently no one believes in karma or sowing and reaping. I feel like by going to work for someone I am suddenly owned, and by God I'd better do EVERY FUCKING THING they tell me and be johnny on the spot or jesus fucking christ I'm worthless and a drain on their goddamn resources. It all seems like such a scam. A great big farce. Employers want robots at their beck and call. Employees want a paycheck and don't care about the company. Is this really how it is?

All I want to do is go to work, do my job, do a good job and go home happy. Apparently this is too much to ask for.

Wanted - Decent Employer: willing to treat a human being like a human being. Pay reasonable to experience and increased by doing a good and consistent job. Will not ask employees to do unethical things or assist in covering up illegal activities.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!