��� 2005-01-12, 9:16 p.m.

Gut Feelings

Last night at Toastmasters I showed up just in time, actually amazed that I wasn't late. I sat down and noticed that no one was sitting at the timer's chair. Imagine my amazement as I started looking at the agenda for the evening and realized that I was the timer. That explained the empty chair.

Anyway, last night a girl gave a speech about gut feelings. She cited several examples about how people followed (or didn't follow) those feelings and it made a big difference. She went into the scientific explaination for a "gut feeling." It was actually pretty intriguing. So today I followed my gut feeling twice and I was right on both times. The second one is the one that counts.

Bill and I have been dealing with two mortgage guys, trying to get the best rate for our loan. My gut was really telling me to go with Joe. When the final numbers came in, Chris was just a little bit better than Joe. Even so, I stuck to my gut and Bill agreed. When he called Chris to tell him that sorry, thanks for your help but we're going with someone else, Chris was totally rude to him, said "good luck" and hung up.

When I heard about this I was personally offended. Not an ounce of professionalism. To think, we could have put money in his wallet with our loan and he was really an ass under it all. I was actually disturbed and kind of icky feeling all afternoon because of it. I'm thankful I went with my gut.

All that aside, it looks like we will be closing on January 31st. I can't believe how fast all of this is happening. One day I'm thinking we'll never find a house we like, the next day we're signing paperwork. I guess when it's "meant to be" that's how it goes. Let's hope!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!