��� 2005-08-31, 8:52 p.m.

Got Gas?

I experienced my first gas panic today. This must have been what it was like in the 70's except they actually had a gas shortage.

Effects from Katrina put into question the fuel supply in the state of Georgia. This, in turn, threw people into a frenzy to get gas. I went to a gas station after work and decided it wasn't worth waiting in lines three deep for a few precious moments with the pump. I drove by a station on my way to Fry's (again) and saw an empty pump, so I jumped in and bought my gas for the bargain basement price of $3.07 per gallon.

As I went on my merry way I came upon an intersection that was almost completely blocked due to people trying desperately to get into the Quick Trip. It got worse as I got closer to home. People were compeltely freaked out. The governor had to go on TV and tell people, in not so many words, to fucking calm down. In some places gas was up to $3.50. I heard something about $6 per gallon but I don't know where it was.

What a nice pre-labor day suprise! And everyone thought they were going to the lake for a barbecue.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!