��� 2005-08-06, 9:57 a.m.

Fun?

It was high time to have some fun last night. So I did. We went to The Grape with Rosie and her husband. I sampled a lot of wine. Here's a quick rundown of the evening's tasting:

Carabella Pinot Noir - classic Oregon earthy pinot. A little spicy, a lot nice. Recommended.

McWilliams Shiraz - I liked. Smelled more cherry than usual, almost smelled like a Barolo. Very spicy and had a sweet aftertaste.

Tempus Alba Preludio Syrah - Had a hint of something in the scent that I tried to place and came up with anise. I'm not sure if that's what I was smelling but there it is. Spicy as a syrah should be, but kind of astringent on the after taste.

Zolo Malbec - Very soft scent but dry, harsh and unfinished tasting at first pour. However, it did get better as it breathed. Bill liked this one more than I did.

Cutrer Chardonnay - not sure if I'm spelling that right. Very crisp and refreshing. Oaky like an American Chard is expected to be but not overwhelmingly so. I liked it quite a bit and would buy a bottle.

Had enough? I did! It was nice to get out and have fun for a change, especially since I was beginning to feel human again. Better yet my hangover is very mild and I'll still be in good shape for kung fu today.

Finally, Midori was too cute the other day. We bought a poker table top and the cats absolutely love the box it came in. What is it about cardboard that makes cats go bonkers? Anyway, I snapped a cute shot of my little sweetie hanging out in the box:


��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!