��� 2006-04-13, 10:22 p.m.

Fake Conversations

Everyone has had them. Conversations that are meaningless. Maybe initially they had meaning, but they spiraled into nothingness in short order. I had one of these conversations tonight after kung fu.

There's another black belt named Eric. We've worked together on stuff, chatted after class, etc. Apparently he was never in any of the discussions where I mentioned my husband. We were on our way out the door after class and he says, "Oh, hey," and turns around toward me.

I knew right away what was up. One of those psychic things. He didn't technically ask me for a date, but he invited me to team trivia at a bar that he and his friends participate in.

Luckily, I had the perfect out. I said something about yeah, how my husband and I were out at a bar last week where they were playing trivia, yadda yadda. I felt bad for him. I'm sure he felt like he was taking a risk and ended up feeling like a dumbass.

That's when the conversation turned fake. Oh yeah, well come on by if you're interested. Bring your husband or a friend. That does sound like fun, we'll see what happens. And both of us are thinking um, yeah. THAT'S never gonna happen.

So next time I see him I'll have to be extra nice and friendly so he doesn't feel like an idiot. I hate it when that happens. Especially because even if I was single...heck no. Seriously. Not a chance.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!