��� 2005-01-22, 9:52 p.m.

Don't Drink and Shop

This evening Bill and I decided to try out a new spot called The Grape. It's a funky wine bar with really great food. I had a sun-dried tomato, garlic and feta cheese stuffed portobella mushroom that was incredible. I also sampled nine wines. That put me in a very good mood.

It just so happens that we finished up at the Grape just before 8:30. Coincidently, the stores in the shopping area it's located in stay open til nine. So I trotted my mildly intoxicated ass down to Ann Taylor and spent $200. To my credit, I got a totally sweet suit jacket on sale for $53 and a skirt that turns my child bearing hips into little Asian-chick size bones for less than $25. Even with booze, I still know how to shop.

I just have one thing to say about today's weather: It's a cold mother fucker. A man could freeze in 2.8 seconds. This is Georgia, and this is coming from someone who grew up in frigid Iowa. My suggestion to everyone afflicted with this type of meteorological anomoly is to stay home and have some hot buttered rum.

I would like to highlight one of tonight's fine wines: 2002 Caymus Cabernet. One word: Damn. This wine melts across your tongue and then explodes. It is flavor all over the place. I wouldn't even serve it with food. (Of course, after the $70 retail price tag you couldn't afford food anyway.) This is a fine, fine cabernet. Smooth and mature, this is a must for anyone with a wine cellar. For the rest of us, we get a $10 tasting.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!