��� 2005-03-02, 6:19 p.m.

Don't F*ck With Me, Buddy

Last week I sent a letter to my oral surgeon's office requesting reimbursement of a gross overcharge I paid after I had those teeth pulled in January. (Yes, I was still a little gassed up afterward and just handed over the credit card.) I got a call today from someone giving me a different (lesser) figure for my reimbursement, then proceeded to start telling me why. Then she stopped in midsentence and put me on hold. When she came back, she had a new (higher) number, but still less than what I was due.

This is when she started to explain to me that I had to pay my $50 insurance deductible directly to the dentist and that this was over and above the charges shown on my statement and that's why my reimbursement was less. Give me a friggin break. I should have asked her what happens if you have a $500 deductible. Anyway, when reasoning with her didn't work I started yelling. I was so mad and she was so stupid I was shaking when we hung up the phone so she could go give me file to someone else. Huh.

Moments later I received a phone call from a different person informing me that my original request for reimbursement was being processed, because suprise! a deductible in fact is not added to the total bill after the fact. I'm sure I'm not alone when I say "Fucking duh!"

Anyway, this was a real moment for me as it exhibits my "Don't Tred on Me" philosophy. I used to let people walk all over me. In the past, I would have cowered down and said "oh, ok, don't hurt me...go ahead and screw me, i won't complain!" Not anymore. She didn't know what she was in for when she dialed my number.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!