��� 2005-09-08, 5:36 p.m.

Glockgirl's Day in the Sun (and Moon)

As I've been agonizing over for days, my 1st brown belt test was last night. Honestly I couldn't have asked for a better test. Even though I was nervous as hell to begin with I managed to pull it out of somewhere and did a great job if I do say so myself. Unfortunately it was hard for me to really enjoy my picture perfect ending stances and spot-on technique because I had to pee SO BAD and my mouth was bone dry the whole time. I guess that's the secret to great kung fu?

Anyway so the most exciting part was that four out of the five brown belts testing (everyone else was testing in Tai Chi) were GIRLS. WOOHOO! It's funny that the token girl from each school was present for the test. Everyone had a pretty good test, which is saying something - I don't think anyone had to stop and start over again. Master G was tearing up the Tai Chi people then got started on us but...he actually said mostly good things to me. He of course offered some constructive criticism but he said I'd greatly improved from my last test, that I looked confident and I moved along at an appropriate speed for my skill level. Whoa. Busting my ass pays off for once!

It was way more fun than my last test. Below please find the compulsory photo of me with my certificate, modeling my new piece of white electrical tape in front of the fireplace:

Since I was feeling good, I posed for the camera. This is the ending stance for 1st China Hand (Five Directional Palm) or Lian U Chang:

And finally a cat stance from the same form. Note the nifty suit of armor in the background:

Even though I wanted to beat the living shit out of my boss this morning, I was able to look upon my certificate with fondness, find some yin and calm down. My next test in January will be for probationary black belt, then the formal test in front of the Grandmaster in March for full black. Kickin' ass and takin names...


��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!