��� 2007-02-14, 10:43 p.m.

Dark Place

Got back from Chicago in one piece. Our flight out was delayed two hours. Our return flight was delayed 40 minutes but I thank God we got out on Monday. O'Hare cancelled 400+ flights out on Tuesday. Yipe!

On our flight home from the training (which was good, but brain-frying) one of the flight attendants had on a skirt so short I looked at it and practically screamed Sweet Jesus! I felt like I should have slipped a fiver into her stocking. Certainly she inadvertantly changed skirts with her midget roommate because there's no way American Airlines allows skirts that short. It barely covered her ass.

I read a quote recently by Erica Jong (you know, she wrote a little no-name book called Fear of Flying in the 70's)...anyway I read this quote last week and it keeps coming back to me. She says, "Everyone has talent. What is rare is the courage to follow the talent to the dark place where it leads."

I've had a new story in me lately that's bursting to come out. It's going to be a series of books...no way I can get all this out in one book. But I keep telling it to back off because I have three projects to finish before I can get to it. Rudely it interrupts me CONSTANTLY so I'm going to have to quit my job to get to it in time. Sheesh. So demanding. I'm afraid of what will happen if I put it off for too long, though. I put off my current characters for two or three weeks and when I finally get back to them what do they do? GOD. I can't even SAY what they are doing. They are punishing me for ignoring them by...by...engaging in...in...I can't even say it.

I wonder if that's what she meant about the "dark place"?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!