��� 2006-04-26, 9:39 p.m.

Chinese & Vietnamese Sushi

Bill and I went for sushi tonight. We discovered some interesting things. Our favorite sushi chef is Vietnamese. His wife is Chinese. Our waitress is Chinese. I spoke a little Chinese that I know with our waitress and she actually understood what I said. Even better, she thought my accent was good. (That or she was fishing for a better tip, which is also ok.)

It's amazing how the US brings people together. I now want to make friends with my waitress so she can help me with my Chinese and I can help her with English. (Ok, so she speaks a lot better English than I speak Chinese. But still...)

It also amazes me how Asian people can readily tell the difference between Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, etc., and me? Well...um...I can't. Maybe if I hear a last name I can decipher what national origin someone is. Otherwise, forget about it. How do they know? If you place a French person next to a German person, I'm not going to be able to tell who is who until they open their mouth. Interesting.

Sometimes I feel painfully inept. Until my waitress tells me my Chinese accent is good. :)

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!