��� 2005-04-19, 9:14 p.m.

I'm BACK and I'm JUSTIFIED

After The Crash last month I was puterless for a while, then too paranoid of viruses to do much beyond check my email for several weeks. Nothing like total systems failure to dampen your internet browsing mood. Now that I've gotten my SUH-WEET new computer and am over Crash Anxiety, I am back!

And today, I am justified. Long time readers may remember the accident I had in November due to some asshole, er, I mean, fellow driver, telling me it was ok for me to pull out and turn left while he was obstructing my view. As it turned out, it was not at all safe to go and I got nailed by a van coming up on the other side of him. I FINALLY had my day in court today. But first, let me set the scene for you:

1. I've been fighting my dentist's office for over two months to get a refund of $1,100+ that I was overcharged in January (long story). I have yelled at more than one person in the office. This morning I got a phone call saying check's in the mail. Oh yeah.
2. I stopped for gas on my way to work and needed air in my tire. For the first time in the history of my existence, I was able to fill my tire with air without a friggin catastrophy or making a scene in the Quick Trip parking lot.
3. As I got in the car this afternoon to go to court, my favorite song was on the radio.
4. When I got to the courthouse, there was an open parking spot right up front. By now I'm thinking whoa. This NEVER happens to me.
5. I get into the courtroom and discover that the driver of the van (who was definately NOT at fault) actually showed up for the court date. This almost disturbed me. When they called me up in front of the judge and asked for any witnesses, she just sat there. Didn't move, didn't speak. Judge asked me for my plea and I said Not Guilty. The cop who ticketed me was there. He looked at something the judge showed him and made some kind of head motion. The Judge says, "You're free to go, ma'am." And that was it. I walked out of the courtroom ticketless and fineless. I hope that poor girl isn't still sitting in the courtroom waiting for a trial that's already over, but man I wasn't about to rock the boat.
6. At 6pm, the height of Atlanta rush hour, I drove home in sparse traffic. WTF??

One person per day is chosen to have that day cater to them. That day for me was today. Nothing bad could happen today. I dropped my cell phone and it bust into three pieces - I picked it up, put it back together and it's good as new. The phone didn't dare screw with my karma.

Additionally, earlier today I talked to my sister and asked her to pray for my court date. When I got home I called her and said, "WHAT did you say to God??" Apparently she started praying and God said, "Everyone shut up! Sheri's talking!"

So I am pleased to report I'm justified and ancient. Or, well, maybe just justified.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!