��� 2006-01-14, 4:37 p.m.

Baby Got Black

After countless hours of training and dollars spent on training and weapons and untold anxiety over miscellaneous tests, here I am. Welcome to black belt.

The test took FOREVER. It started at 7:30 last night. They tested the tai chi people then sent them out of the room. I tested with two kids who were testing for jr black belt stripes. The rest of the brown belts tested. Then the brown belts sparred. Then the kung fu people were given tips and pointers for each person. Then the same for tai chi people. It was 11:00 before we escaped. I was tired and starving.

But I was a black belt.

I am pretty satisfied with my test. I made a few mistakes but plowed right on through and kept moving. Stopping is the kiss of death. Starting over is hell. Once you lose your concentration your confidence is shattered. Master R and Sifu G had good constructive criticism for me. I have work to do, but who doesn't. At least my broadsword didn't fall apart on me during my test. One kid's sword completely fell to pieces during his form. He stood there and lifted his hands like, "What the heck??" Guess that explains why it was in the lost and found.

Hopefully I can fix all my shit before I test with the Grandmaster in March. In the meantime, it's fun with broadswords :)

I've decided that since this is such a big event it ought to be a week long gala. The Glockgirl Blackbelt Gala starts off this afternoon with a bottle of Adelsheim Pinot Noir. Cheers!

And weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!