��� 2005-02-11, 10:17 p.m.

WELCOME!

So. Yesterday we got keys to the house. The sellers were not willing to stick around while I drove up to the house to get them, so they left one key outside under a dead plant. I think I know why they didn't want to be around when I got there.

I could see the gargantuan pile of shit in and around the trash receptacle four blocks away. I could barely see the driveway for the stacks of junk on the curb. Hmmm.

Getting into the house was an event. A humiliating event. I got the key and attempted to gain entry through the front door. I could get the dead bolt unlocked but not the handle lock. After standing there for a few minutes, wondering if the neighbors were calling the police, I decided to try the basement entrance.

I circled the house and went down to the basement door. Opened it right up! Woohoo! So I prance around for a moment, then head up the stairs to the main level. The door at the top of the stairs is locked. Dammit! So I tried the credit card thing. That is crap. That does NOT work. I gave up and headed back to the front door.

My second try was more successful. You just have to say the magic words. #&@&! Hoping that the Gwinnett county police were not on their way, I walked into my home for the first time. I felt strange, like I was impersonating someone else. How could I really own this house? It just didn't seem real.

So after I got over that little moment, I went around the house and discovered that they took their shit and bailed. The microwave was dirty. All the cabinets in the kitchen are dirty. The carpets had not been vaccumed. The downstairs half bath had the seat up and a little hair curled neatly on the rim. Nice.

The Floor Guy came today to measure our kitchen for hardwood floors. We entered the house, I showed him what we wanted. He bent down to do some measuring, then promptly stood up and shattered the breakfast table hanging light fixture with his head. I stood there a moment, stunned, trying to figure out what had just happened. He had a similar look on his face as he rubbed his head and started stuttering "I'm sorry! I'll pay for it!" After ensuring he did not have a concussion, we swept up the debris. Luckily, I didn't like that lighting piece anyway and it was destined for the trash one way or another. I felt bad for the guy - I know what it's like to make an ass of yourself.

We met a nice neighbor today who was going through the junk at the curb. Trash was supposed to be picked up today. When we left this afternoon at 2:30 every last bit of shit was still there. Well, every bit except for what some random guy was loading up into his van. Hmmmm.

*heavy sigh*

Ok, so I knew it wasn't going to be all roses and champagne. I can deal with this. Bill and I had fun tonight at Lowe's looking at lighting and cabinet hardware and door knobs and paint. We will soon kiss the uber-floral decor goodnight and breathe a fresh blast of air into that house. It will be beautiful. Spectacular. And it will be ours!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!