��� 2006-12-16, 5:03 p.m.

Malbec, Anyone?

I thought it was so funny that kungfukitten was drinking Malbec last night because that's what has been open in my house the last couple of days and I was thinking, "I should really write a review of this wine on my diary." Now everyone will think I'm copying KFK because she's like, supercool and we all want to be like her. Well, dammit, maybe I do but that's not why I'm writing about Trapiche Oak Case Malbec.

I had a bad Malbec experience a while ago and have thus shunned an otherwise perfectly acceptable wine. The Trapiche was recommended to us so I decided to give it a try. I think this wine got better after being open for a day or two, but it was still pretty good on the first day. It has a great jammy bouquet, the kind I like to just inhale and inhale until my husband says, "Stop sniffing it and drink already." It's nice and plummy (is that a word?) fairly low tannings for a young wine (2004) and is a pretty darn good wine overall.

I found a review on Vinvinodirect.com that describes it thusly: Dark red with hints of violet, intense and appealing in colour, predominant juicy aromas of berries and plum jam, the light oak enhanced into a vanilla, biscuity touch warm smooth balance.

I thought biscuity was a term used to describe champagne? Who knew.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!