��� 2006-12-23, 12:04 p.m.

Good News and Bad News

I guess that's the way life is - you get good news, you get bad news. The good stuff helps you get through the bad stuff.

Good news first - I got the release date for my book - July 5th. Woot! I have an ISBN and everything.

The bad news is that I found out this week my sister in law has cancer. They found a malignant tumor in her lung. (She doesn't smoke or anything - very healthy lifestyle - go figure.) Because of where it's located surgery is not an option - that means chemo. However, her type of lymphoma, according to the doctor, has a complete cure rate of 80-90%. And let's be honest, if you have to hear the word cancer, those are the kind of numbers you want to hear afterward.

The amazing thing is her attitude. I talked to her last night and you would hardly know anything was wrong. She says she's going to do whatever she wants - if she wants a bath in the middle of the day she's going to take it. Have facials. A massage. Not clean the house if she doesn't feel like it. She is going to lose all her hair from the chemo and has promised to buy some outrageous wigs. She was always a wonderful, amazing person and those colors are really showing through now. Got to love her :)

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!