��� 2005-02-14, 6:36 p.m.

Identity Theft

These days, it's not a matter of if, but when. And When, you'd better have your bases covered. This weekend some loser got ahold of my debit card number and sent flowers to their loved ones for Valentine's Day using it. Isn't that sweet? Then, deciding one good deed deserved another, purchased an item or two over the phone from Nordstrom's. Apparently that wasn't enough of a reward for being such a nice person as to send flowers to people so they decided to do it again at Old Navy. Old Navy did not agree and refused the charge because the purchaser did not have the three digit code on the back of my card. Gee, because they didn't have my card. Because they're NOT ME.

This idiot sent flowers to people. Gee, we won't be able to figure out who it was by backtracking from that. Also, they made the mistake of trying to defraud someone who checks their online account practically hourly. So I put the ka-bosh on their shopping spree pretty quickly.

After my nausea-inducing discovery and prompt cancellation of my check card, I had to make a trip to Sam's Club to pick up some photos I had developed there. I learned something today. Sam's Club doesn't take Mastercard. Nor do they take Visa. Who on God's green earth doesn't take VISA?? I really thought Visa was everywhere I wanted to be...but I was wrong. And I was left at the friggin Sam's Club register two bucks short of my tab in cash and unable to use my debit card because of donkeyfuckingloser who stole my number.

I would like to practice my inside outside smash kicks on this dumbass's head. I wonder how many it would take for a knockout? Or I cold just do one swift kick for each dollar. So what if Bank Of America credits my account back for the theft? Someone has to pay for it. We've been learning these nifty crane slaps. I could bitchslap them until they pass out.

Seriously, though. I'm not angry so much as confused. What gives someone idea that they have the right to steal from someone else? I work for my money just like anyone else who has a job. I pay my taxes, more than my fair share. I pay my bills on time and recycle regularly. I give to charity. I brake for animals. What made this person think that I ought to pay for their shit too? It's just really sad.

Anyway, since our favorite restaurant DOES take Mastercard we're off to Valentine's dinner...late, since Bill got stuck at work. Oh well. I'm sure it will be a great time none the less. Give me another glass of wine and all is well.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!