��� 2005-07-30, 9:07 p.m.

Ten Commandments of Wine

Wine of the Day: 2002 Ferrari Carrano Chardonnay. This is a serious chard. If you do not love chardonnary, walk on by. At $32 liquor store price, this is not a daily drinker. It is, however, damn fine. It's an incredibly smooth, almost sweet chard. There really is no chardonnay like it that I've ever tasted. It is truely unique. My sinuses are still a little stuffy or I'd tell you how it smells. This wine makes me feel like I'm standing on the deck of a cruise ship, staring out at a darkened skyline, watching the lights of an island fade away into the distance. I can smell the salt in the air and feel the soft breeze on my skin. Considering the fact that I have never been on a cruise ship, this is truely incredible. :) Unlike many chards, this one keeps pretty well. A lot of them you want to drink within a few years. This one, in our experience, stays good. We've had one five years old and still loved it. Either they're all like that or 1997 was just a really good year.

We went wine shopping today. I saw a few things I never thought I would see. Things that are quite possibly a sin. Wine in a box is unnatural. Wine in a palm-size, hand held totable flexi-box with a drinking spout is a god damn insult, once you get over the initial shock. So insulting and shocking that Bill actually purchased one to see just how bad it is. He got the cabernet, so I can see this is going to be entertaining. A full report will follow his initial sip. Friends don't let friends drink white zin, Friends don't let friends drink wine in a box. Any kind of box.

This has inspired me to write some rules about wine drinking. Here's my stab at the ten commandments of wine:

1. All types of wine are good. Except for white zin. White zin is evil.
2. Wine is a box is a sin.
3. Corks: natural cork is good. Synthetic cork is good. Screw top is ok on certain wines. Wine in a box (aka, no cork) is a sin.
4. If you go to a wine tasting and leave without a buzz, you're doing it wrong. Doing it wrong is a sin.
5. Putting ice into ANY wine (with the exception of wine as a part of sangria) is also a sin. You must never do this under pain of death.
6. Inexpensive does not mean shit. Expensive does not mean good. Assume nothing. Taste first, then judge.
7. It's ok to be pretentious about your wine tasting in public. It's also ok to be pretentious about your wine tasting at home. It's all about fun!
8. It's ok to drink wine alone. It's not ok to drink wine alone all the time.
9. Don't waste really fine wine on people who don't know the difference. (Yeah, it's harsh but true. Even on me, a $1000 bottle of wine might be wasted.)
10. Wine is a good gift. Gifts are good to give to Glockgirl. Therefore, wine is good to give to Glockgirl.

Ok, there it is. Feel free to write your own!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!