��� 2004-12-08, 7:57 p.m.

What it Takes

This morning was hell. I woke up feeling like my jaw had been torn off
in my sleep. (I got my "spacers" in yesterday, basically giant rubber
bands jammed inbetween my back teeth.) Then i was putting packages in my trunk for mailing and the trunk lid came down on my head and nailed me one good. I'm already late for work and realize
that my rear window defroster is not working and i can't see a damn
thing behind me. Then my CD player wouldn't work. Then the traffic was
backed up a full mile to get onto the interstate. By this time, I'm fuming
mad, spitting bullets and ready for some good road rage. Then bill
called. He's had jury duty all this week and had to be at the courthouse by a certain time. He tells me the lock on our apartment door is broken and it will not lock. He has to leave. So our
apartment (who we think someone tried to break into on Monday and that's
why the lock was messed up) is unlocked and unmanned. As soon as I got
to work I called the leasing office and let them know that i meant
business, that lock had better be fixed yesterday and I wasn't pulling any
punches. They swore to me the maintenance guy was on his way as we
spoke. I proceeded to break my printer, then got a message from my boss
that made me want to shoot myself. then a co-worker sticks his head into my office while I'm barely functioning and asks me if I'm George Kastanza. I
started to cry.

Now we see what it takes.

Luckily the day improved. My pre-braces spacers prevented me from all but nibbling at my lunch, but a kindly client gave us a coffee cake this afternoon. Coffee cake is soft. So I had two pieces. I fixed my printer. Now I'm having wine. Things are looking up. Teeth still hurt like a #^%^@%er but hey, Advil and Shiraz seem to make it go away, at least in my mind...

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!