��� 2004-09-25, 4:51 p.m.

Humility

Just when you start to think your kung fu is strong, a higher rank puts you where you belong. Today only two of us showed up for brown belt class. During warm up Sifu was calling out random numbers of short forms for us to do, then laughing until we figured it out. Imagine someone asking you to name the 12th letter of the alphabet. Then the 22nd. Then the 8th. You see what I mean. That was a little embarrassing.

After that, both of us had seen this week's material so we just reviewed that for a few minutes then went to sparring. Rather than have the two of us spar each other for 25 minutes, the Sifus jumped into the mix.

Sifu D kept grabbing me around the head and taking me to the floor. My hair got all messed up from that. Sifu C was using some killer mantis and bird techniques. No matter what I did I had fingers in my chest or my face. Then he laughed at me. Good thing I'm a good sport and I like him! But on the upshot it's always valuable to spar with guys at that level - I always pick something up that I can use later. My new secret weapon: raise my leg like I'm going to kick, then when they veer out of the way, back hand them with the opposite hand.

In other news, everyone in Tai Chi hates me because I can almost do the Chinese splits. WOOT!

We're going to Dante's Down the Hatch tonight. It's going to be some killer fondue, awesome jazz, and real relaxation.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!