��� 2004-08-15, 5:31 p.m.

Olympic Performances

I am proud to announce that I completed my first ever 5K run yesterday. I ran the whole way and finished in about 35 minutes. The only downer about the whole thing was the "warm up" that they had led by some bimbo aerobics instructor from a local health club. (Imagine a tiny bouncing blonde saying "that's right! You've got it! Four more! And left, and right!" I've never made such a public ass clown of myself. That, however, was gone from my mind as Rosie and I sprinted across the finish line. WOOT!

Today I spent a little time at the firing range. I'm improving little by little. On my second box of ammo I made 35 out of 50 rounds in the inner circle of my target. That one went on the refrigerator.

With the Olympics starting Friday I've been spending considerably more time watching TV than usual. I watched some of the opening ceremonies and just wondered what it would be like to be an Olympic athlete. The kind of energy that would surround you I can't even imagine. I saw a country or two that only had one athlete go to the games. Could you imagine being the only one from your country? What if you were the only one and got the gold? To be on the top, wearing a gold medal and hearing your country's national anthem because of YOUR efforts...I would probably be bawling too hard to hear the music. They'd have to carry me off the podium.

Anyway, hope everyone is enjoying the games.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!