��� 2004-08-18, 7:20 p.m.

The Wicked Web & Beach Volleyball

There's a very motivated spider living in the stairwell of our apartment building. Each night, he spins a bigger and better web across the staircase, only to have it knocked down by someone (usually me) who then cusses and proceeds to pick the web off their arms and clothes. I can imagine that spider thinking "If I can just catch one of them, I'll never have to worry about food again!"

Here is what I want to see out of the next Olympics. Not kung fu as an Olympic event, not an American sweep of all gold medals imagineable, but this: the Iraqi women's beach volleyball team. (Ok, the next Olympics will probably be a little too soon for them, but when I see that it will be a proud day for women everywhere.) There's nothing I'd like to see more than women who used to have to be toted around in black rags by a man out in the sand in bikinis beating the crap out of another team.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!