��� 2004-07-21, 10:27 p.m.

Kwan Tao and Potluck

Today we began learning the Kwan Tao form. So after an hour of standing on one foot in Tai Chi, I was handed a ten pound stick with a giant blade on the end of it and swung that around for another hour. (Oh, yeah, and sparred, too. I didn't cry this time - two points for me.) I felt like I should have been wearing a black hood and introducing myself as "The Reaper" carrying that giant weapon around.

There's a really crappy pic of a kwan tao here: http://www.wahnam.com/uk/wahnam/lineage.htm

It's the best I could do on short notice :) I guess I'll have my pic taken with it once I get one. Yes, once again glockgirl is weaponless. Living on borrowed weapons. I still don't have a broadsword to call my own.

Anyway, the kwan tao form has blown my head right off. Damn good thing I get to see this section of it again on Saturday. All that jumping and swinging and turning. I'm toast, man. Toast.

Oh, yeah. I ran this morning too - another mile under my shoes. I'm starting to feel like tri-me. (I'd do a link to her diary but that's still a little beyond me. There's a link to it on my profile, though!) This is four days in a row of running. Legs are doing ok. Still attached.

Tip of the day: if there's a potluck at work, volunteer to bring something that requires zero preparation. My abused coworker and I put effort into preparing quesadillas and fajitas for the company potluck, and all we got from my boss was bitching about how everything got cold while we just took forever making food for them. Should have called it a potfuck. Ok, enough bitching for now.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!